+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: style.css version

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    229

    style.css version

    Hello.

    How can I make a version number behind style.css?
    This is what I mean: style.css?v=1.0

  2. #2
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,105
    Hello,

    What is the idea of this version for this css file?

  3. #3
    Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    229
    If you make changes to the css file then I always have to change the directory name so that the change is immediately visible. The version number would be good for this so that after each change the version number would be changed.

  4. #4
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,105
    I think you'd better disable files caching on your server

  5. #5
    Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    229
    All right. Thanks

  6. #6
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,016
    If you make changes to the css file then I always have to change the directory name so that the change is immediately visible. The version number would be good for this so that after each change the version number would be changed.
    Never had a problem with style changes showing up? always just hard refresh Ctrl F5
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

  7. #7
    Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete Young View Post
    Never had a problem with style changes showing up? always just hard refresh Ctrl F5
    If you only modify it in the style.css file, then even if you press the F5 key, the cache must be turned off, because the browser will display the stored version as it does not detect that you have modified it!

  8. #8
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,016
    OK ? I have never had that problem, maybe my settings are different?
    Last edited by Pete Young; May 5, 2021 at 12:10 AM.
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

+ Reply to Thread