+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hide labels on post ad page...

  1. #1

    Hide labels on post ad page...

    Hi,

    I would like to hide all the labels on the post ad page that are for text boxes / select menus and keep the labels on everything else. Meaning if a placeholder can be added to it, remove the label. Ex: Remove labels from radio buttons and other fields that can't support placeholder.
    Thank you - Your Welcome
    Brian

  2. #2
    How would a user know what to enter/select if there is no text there?

  3. #3
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,949
    in field.tpl file

    change:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    to:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    you can add more field types to the condition if necessary

  4. #4
    That is why I have added placeholders. It says I want to remove any of the labels that can't have placeholders, ex: radio buttons or selects, well selects can have placeholders, but any fields that don't support placeholders, I want to hide the labels. since it will show more than what is actually necessary. Too much text is confusing.

    Brian
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Can View Post
    How would a user know what to enter/select if there is no text there?
    Thank you - Your Welcome
    Brian

  5. #5
    Rudi,

    What you have suggested is not what I need. For example: In your code above, I have tried it. If I put {if $field.Type == 'text' || $field.Type == 'textarea'} I was hoping that the page would render without labels next to the textboxes and textarea boxes, but it does the opposite, that is ok (so I would leave text and textarea out to hide those labels, which is ok), but if I put radio in replace of either text or textarea, the label will not show, and I want the labels for the radio buttons (and other fields that don't support or cannot show placeholder text), I want the labels for radio buttons to show because a placeholder cannot be shown on those field types.

    Brian
    Quote Originally Posted by Rudi View Post
    in field.tpl file

    change:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    to:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    you can add more field types to the condition if necessary
    Thank you - Your Welcome
    Brian

  6. #6
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,949
    As I mentioned below, use field types in the condition for which you need a placeholder:

    {if $field.Type == 'FIELD_TYPE_1' || $field.Type == 'FIELD_TYPE_2'}


    I don't see the problem

  7. #7
    Rudi,

    Update: I have figured out the blank on the post ad page, it was a google chrome extension causing the issue, Chrome Cleaner, but it's a good cleaner for chrome so I will continue to use it, but disable it when I am navigating the website.

    As for you code below, I am still unable to see the labels.

    Brian
    Quote Originally Posted by Rudi View Post
    As I mentioned below, use field types in the condition for which you need a placeholder:

    {if $field.Type == 'FIELD_TYPE_1' || $field.Type == 'FIELD_TYPE_2'}


    I don't see the problem
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Brian Jester; March 9, 2021 at 02:17 PM.
    Thank you - Your Welcome
    Brian

  8. #8
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,949
    Hello,

    You should log in

    maybe you disable quick registration or enable logging in for the add-listing page

  9. #9
    Rudi,

    I don't know if it's any different, but I mentioned radio button, it's a yes / no radio field type, I don't think that makes any difference, but could that be the reason I am not getting the labels for the yes / no fields? I have tried radio and yes/no in the {if $field,Type =="radio'

    Brian
    Quote Originally Posted by Rudi View Post
    in field.tpl file

    change:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    to:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    you can add more field types to the condition if necessary
    Thank you - Your Welcome
    Brian

  10. #10
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,949
    If there are no item labels it's another problem

+ Reply to Thread