+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Keyword Search logic wrong when selecting category

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    278

    Keyword Search logic wrong when selecting category

    Hello,

    Again im trying to get flynax to respond regarding the classifieds script search logic.

    Go to the demo site, select "property"on dropdown in header search panel, then type in "audi" in the keyword field.

    So logic tells me that according to this search i should get no listing results for "audi" unless the word audi was in a property title or description field, instead i get all property listings in property as the result.

    Now select "Motors" under dropdown and type "audi", surely you should only get audi related listings or listings that might have that keyword in it?

    You get all listings under motors instead.


    So this is confusing for a keaword search panel that has the ability to also select a category, it does not work.


    So on my site i only do boats and you get wrong results when selecting a specific category. Makes the site looks incomplete when it comes to searching on the main header.
    can we fix this?
    Whats your thoughts?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Australia mate.
    Posts
    144
    Oops... that's a big bug. Is this something that has only recently been introduced in new version?

    Confirmed same issue when I checked the demo.

  3. #3
    Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    278
    Im pretty sure it was fine in 4.8.0. But i could be wrong.
    Someone here still on 4.8.0 could check it.
    I do know that search specific results i always check because i target a boating niche and should in a real world be spot on.
    My personal opinion is that most flynax users dont even check this.

  4. #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    278
    Anything on this issue?

  5. #5
    Flynax developer Rudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,591
    Hello,

    In fact, the keyword search works with text fields and categories

    and on the search results page, you can change the search mode using "Exact match" for example

    by default, the "Any words in any order" mode is used


    I assume that you need to get listings if there is a whole word in the text and not a part of it

    For that go to includes > classes > rlSearch.class.php > public function keywordSearch

    change:
    PHP Code:
    Only registered members can view the code
    to:
    PHP Code:
    Only registered members can view the code
    or to:
    PHP Code:
    Only registered members can view the code
    this solution is related only to "Exact match" mode

  6. #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    278
    Rudi,

    Thats fine but the problem im refering to is:

    If i select "powerboats" in drop down and type any keyword, the results are listings under sail boats. Should it not then just search text fields under "power boat" category?
    At the moment i did not list any listings under "power boats" , should have no results then?

  7. #7
    Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    278
    Thank you rudi,
    Its working now.
    I dont know what i did but its searching correct now.

+ Reply to Thread