+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remove Account 4.7.0

  1. #1
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,028

    Remove Account 4.7.0

    In 4.7.0 and in testing I set up a user account with a 3 letter password, that's ok but when I go to test remove the account I get this error message >
    Your Password is either to short or empty.
    making it not possible to delete the account as it appears the two options do not talk with each other ? it is a bit like the song hotel California,
    You can check out any time you like, But you can never leave!
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

  2. #2
    Yes, your are totally right. Actually, it's a meaningful limitation; but they forgot to do it in registration process too.
    So, for now, you can temporary remove this limitation from remove account process until flynax add limitation in registration process ( maybe they did it in 4.7.1 )

    Go to your_template/components/account_removing/_account_removing.js

    Find:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    replace with:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    There is same problem in Remind password process and you can modify it too.

    Go to includes/controllers/remind.inc.php

    Find:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    Replace with:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.

  3. #3
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,028
    Thank you, looks like fun
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

  4. #4
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by Bahram Soltanirad View Post
    Yes, your are totally right. Actually, it's a meaningful limitation; but they forgot to do it in registration process too.
    They do have a restriction of a min 3 in registration that I can see.

    The value in the Password field must be at least 3 characters long.

    Go to your_template/components/account_removing/_account_removing.js
    Find:
    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    To fix this you only need edit the 3 to a 2 ( or possibly remove the = sign ) for it to work with the registration requirements.

    Code:
    Only registered members can view the code.
    Thank you for showing me where to do it.


    Now to fix forgot pass and by looking at it I need to change the 3 > 2 as well ?

    I can confirm that you just need to change to a 2 here as well

    if (strlen($password) <= 2) {
    $errors[] = $lang['password_lenght_fail'];
    }
    I am also sure you could just remove the = sign to read < 3 as it looks like the programmer used the (equal to) by mistake by writing <= 3 instead of < 3
    Last edited by Pete Young; March 10, 2019 at 11:37 AM.
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

  5. #5
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,028
    This problem still exists in 4.7.2 and possibly beyond.
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
    Posts
    28
    Hmmm ... I think for safety reasons this value should be raised significantly.

    > Make sure all your passwords are 12 characters or more...
    https://blog.codinghorror.com/speed-hashing/

    12, maybe a lot by default, but 8 is IMHO, the minimum that should be.

  7. #7
    Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by Eugeniy View Post
    Hmmm ... I think for safety reasons this value should be raised significantly.

    > Make sure all your passwords are 12 characters or more...
    https://blog.codinghorror.com/speed-hashing/

    12, maybe a lot by default, but 8 is IMHO, the minimum that should be.
    ? would need to find out where we add the password probably ? not sure where that is ?
    Getting Started or Starting Over with Your Classified Site? then Get Ready Set Fly V 4.7.1 > quietSecrets.net

+ Reply to Thread