View Full Version : Remove Account 4.7.0
Pete Young
February 24, 2019, 03:09 AM
In 4.7.0 and in testing I set up a user account with a 3 letter password, that's ok but when I go to test remove the account I get this error message >
Your Password is either to short or empty. making it not possible to delete the account as it appears the two options do not talk with each other ? it is a bit like the song hotel California,
You can check out any time you like, But you can never leave!
Bahram Soltanirad
February 24, 2019, 05:18 AM
Yes, your are totally right. Actually, it's a meaningful limitation; but they forgot to do it in registration process too.
So, for now, you can temporary remove this limitation from remove account process until flynax add limitation in registration process ( maybe they did it in 4.7.1 )
Go to your_template/components/account_removing/_account_removing.js
Find:
if (password == '' || password.length <= 3) {
replace with:
if (password == '') {
There is same problem in Remind password process and you can modify it too.
Go to includes/controllers/remind.inc.php
Find:
if (strlen($password) <= 3) {
$errors[] = $lang['password_lenght_fail'];
}
Replace with:
// if (strlen($password) <= 3) {
// $errors[] = $lang['password_lenght_fail'];
// }
Pete Young
February 24, 2019, 11:32 AM
Thank you, looks like fun
Pete Young
March 10, 2019, 10:13 AM
Yes, your are totally right. Actually, it's a meaningful limitation; but they forgot to do it in registration process too.
They do have a restriction of a min 3 in registration that I can see.
The value in the Password field must be at least 3 characters long.
Go to your_template/components/account_removing/_account_removing.js
Find:
if (password == '' || password.length <= 3) {
To fix this you only need edit the 3 to a 2 ( or possibly remove the = sign ) for it to work with the registration requirements.
if (password == '' || password.length <= 2) {
Thank you for showing me where to do it.
Now to fix forgot pass and by looking at it I need to change the 3 > 2 as well ?
I can confirm that you just need to change to a 2 here as well
if (strlen($password) <= 2) {
$errors[] = $lang['password_lenght_fail'];
}
I am also sure you could just remove the = sign to read < 3 as it looks like the programmer used the (equal to) by mistake by writing <= 3 instead of < 3
Pete Young
October 26, 2020, 02:23 AM
This problem still exists in 4.7.2 and possibly beyond.
Eugeniy
October 26, 2020, 07:30 AM
Hmmm ... I think for safety reasons this value should be raised significantly.
> Make sure all your passwords are 12 characters or more...
https://blog.codinghorror.com/speed-hashing/
12, maybe a lot by default, but 8 is IMHO, the minimum that should be.
Pete Young
October 26, 2020, 08:47 AM
Hmmm ... I think for safety reasons this value should be raised significantly.
> Make sure all your passwords are 12 characters or more...
https://blog.codinghorror.com/speed-hashing/
12, maybe a lot by default, but 8 is IMHO, the minimum that should be.
? would need to find out where we add the password probably ? not sure where that is ?
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9 Copyright © 2023 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.