PDA

View Full Version : SSL Protection - Plugin (big change on Google)



PGGO
September 16, 2014, 05:37 PM
Now Google ranking website higher when using SSL across all pages!
http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2014/08/https-as-ranking-signal.html

Fynax, please consider to add option to enable SSL on ALL pages, rather than just admin and login pages.

Mike
September 17, 2014, 03:29 AM
You can easily enable it for all pages manually with 'SSL secured page' option, please note that you have to check that 'Secure all account area pages' disabled

If you want to do it for all pages you can run the following sql query with built in database manager or phpmyadmin for example:



UPDATE `{sql_prefix}pages` SET `Https` = '1' WHERE 1



If we collect a few more similar opinions that we need to add such option we will add it to the plugin. So if anybody other interested in this please let me know in the current thread.

PGGO
September 17, 2014, 04:24 AM
Thanks Mike for suggestion.
However, I got the following error: Table 'mysitename_site.fl_pages' doesn't exist

Q: does this option change “source code urls” as well?

Curtis
September 17, 2014, 07:40 AM
Thanks Mike for suggestion.
However, I got the following error: Table 'mysitename_site.fl_pages' doesn't exist

Q: does this option change

You need add your database prefix only and replace {db_prefix} in row


UPDATE `{db_prefix}_pages` SET `Https` = '1' WHERE 1

Milea Ionut
September 17, 2014, 08:18 AM
This is a very good idea!

Gen82
September 17, 2014, 02:01 PM
Nice work guys.

Petrache Nicolae
September 17, 2014, 09:09 PM
Mike, Curtis, please implement this feature. Thanks

Deonald Tinambunan
September 18, 2014, 02:32 AM
Good idea. Update the plugin please.

PGGO
September 19, 2014, 02:24 AM
Mike,

How can I "Undo" this command after?

UPDATE `fl_pages` SET `Https` = '1' WHERE 1

Fyi, I'm having issue with "add-listing" page (result in 404) after i run this command.

Mike
September 19, 2014, 04:28 AM
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, i see that others need this option too. So we will add it to the next plugin update:

We will add Option to plugin configurations , this option will allow to enable HTTPS for all front end pages of website
(HTTPS for Admin Panel will stay under another existing already option).

Please note that if you enable this option you will be not able to disable it for a particular page.





Mike,

How can I "Undo" this command after?

UPDATE `fl_pages` SET `Https` = '1' WHERE 1

Fyi, I'm having issue with "add-listing" page (result in 404) after i run this command.

Please create a ticket or provide me with details to check this issue, its probably because of urls customization. To disable Https for a page you can with Pages Manager>Edit page>>SSL Secured page -- disable.

to disable for all pages you can run the query

UPDATE `fl_pages` SET `Https` = '0' WHERE 1

PGGO
September 19, 2014, 07:54 AM
It seems to be working now.

The only issue I have now with “Listings on Map” plugin - the Google map is not shown under listing details page due to non-secured map, so browser is blocking the content which is not secured.

PGGO
September 19, 2014, 08:34 AM
Mike, can you please provide some guide on how to handle 301 redirects from "http" to "https" for all urls?

I added two lines of code (see below) to my .htaccess, however it does not redirect properly - it redirects to 403 instead as the following: "https://www.mysite.com/index.php?page=page"


# SSL 301
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteRule (.*) https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [NC,L,R=301]

Mike
September 20, 2014, 04:23 AM
About listings on map problem : open plugins/browseMap/map.tpl find code to load google files and change

http://maps.googleapis.com


to

//maps.googleapis.com

that means it will use http or https to load resources depending of current scheme. Please apply same same solution to other similar issues you might have, you can see them with any browser debugger (press F12)


about redirect:



htaccess - try this code, but remember that browser caches redirects, try different urls or add variables to the url



# SSL 301
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [NC,L,R=301]




if you will not have any luck with htaccess
there should be already redirect as i remember in the plugin (with php) but its 302

to make it 301 you have to edit database table hooks and find hook with name pageinfoArea

and make changes



header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently"); //add this line
header("Location: $redirect");

PGGO
September 21, 2014, 03:15 AM
Thank you for suggestion! i guess i will wait for another release of SSL plugin, cause these redirects causing some problems.

Anthony Clark
September 2, 2015, 07:26 PM
Hi Mike F,

I have an SSL Cert installed for my domain and would like my whole website to be HTTPS

I have gone to Admin Panel > Database and run the following command, supplementing {db_prefix} with my SQL db supercar_flynax to no effect

UPDATE 'supercar_flynax_pages` SET `Https` = '1' WHERE 1

The SSL plugin is still working fine for Admin pages

website supercars.zone